Skip to content


Greater Lafayette Commerce hosts 2022 annual celebration 

We had a great turnout at our 2022 Annual Celebration, which took place October 5 at the Tippecanoe County Fairgrounds. 

The fun-packed evening was spent celebrating Greater Lafayette’s thriving business community, recognizing several outstanding local leaders and being inspired by keynote speaker, Thomas Sonderman. 

Sonderman, who serves as President and CEO of SkyWater Technology, discussed his company’s plans for a $1.8 billion semiconductor foundry in the Discovery Park District at Purdue. The investment will create up to 750 new jobs in Tippecanoe County. 

2022 Award Recipients 

Greater Lafayette Commerce honored community and business leaders at its Annual Celebration. 

Evonik Tippecanoe Labs received Greater Lafayette Commerce’s Chairperson’s Award for the company’s Expansion Project Linc. The award recognizes Evonik as a company that will make a significant contribution to the betterment of Greater Lafayette. 

JoAnn Brouillette, President of Demeter LP, Operating Partner of Agrifood and member of the Purdue University board of trustees, received Greater Lafayette Commerce’s inaugural Athena Leadership Award. The award recognizes Brouillette as someone who strives toward the highest levels of professional accomplishment, has devoted time and energy to her community and inspires women to reach their full potential.  

Sean Lutes, president of the Lafayette Historic Preservation Commission received the Klink Leadership Award. The award recognizes Lutes as someone who best exemplifies the betterment or improvement of downtown Lafayette-West Lafayette. 

Chadd and Angela Gibson, owners of the Gibson on Main, received the G Kurt Wahl Award for Historic Preservation. The award honors the historic rehabilitation of the Gibson on Main, a residential and commercial mixed-use development. 

Shelby Bowen, CEO of Rebar Development, received the Center City Development Award for his work on The Ellsworth, a residential and commercial mixed-use development. The award honors the new construction of The Ellsworth in the center city, which speaks to the area’s growth and transformation. 

And Greater Lafayette Young Professionals honored 10 individuals under the age of 40 with Top 10 under 40 awards. The winner's passion, creativity and vision enrich the Greater Lafayette area. Greater Lafayette Young Professionals is powered by Greater Lafayette Commerce. 

Recipients include Karissa Mooney, Alex Johnston, Tristen Comegys, Jennifer Million, Nathan Hedrick, Timothy Atwater, Tracy Fuller, Drew Smith, Nathaniel Metz and Rebecca Jones.     

Thank you to our sponsors 

Presenting Sponsor: Tipmont REMC and Wintek 

Gold Sponsors: Arconic | Kirby Risk Corporation | Purdue Federal Credit Union | Purdue University 

Silver Sponsors: First Merchants Bank | Henriott Group | Horizon Bank | Ivy Tech | Huth Thompson LLP | State Bank | Stuart & Branigin | Tempest Homes | Unity Healthcare | Wabash  

Bronze Sponsors: City of Lafayette | Dana Incorporated | Duke Energy | Evonik Corporation | EPIC Insurance | First Farmers Bank & Trust | Farmers & Merchants Bank | Henry Poor Lumber | Horizon Bank | Kettelhut Construction | Lafayette Catholic School System | Old National Bank | Oscar Winski | Purdue Research Foundation |Saab | SDI Innovations | Skyepack, Inc. | Star City Broadcasting |Tippecanoe Building & Construction Trades Council | Tippecanoe County Government | Tippecanoe School Corporation | Valley Oaks Health | United Way of Greater Lafayette | United States Representative Jim Baird | UpLync Communications  

Delicious food was provided by East End Grill, Revolution BBQ, Sweet Revolution, The Outpost Catering and Ripple & Co. 

The celebration is far from over. We’ll be hosting events for the rest of the year, including our Quarterly Development Series luncheon for the fourth quarter, Strategic Insights, in addition to various networking and milestone events. 

Keep up to date by checking our events page and liking and following us on Facebook. 

Send us your photos
If you snapped some great photos from the event, please send them to Shelby White at

Scroll To Top